RSS

The lion’s roar

11 Mar

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today:

their arrows are sharp, all their bows bent, their horses’ hoofs seem like flint, and their wheels like the whirlwind. Their roaring is like a lion, like young lions they roar; they growl and seize their prey; they carry it off, and none can rescue. They will growl over it on that day, like the growling of the sea. And if one looks to the land, behold, darkness and distress; and the light is darkened by its clouds. (Isa 5:28-30)

 

I don’t know about you, but that seems like “dark” times… Warfare, darkness and distress, (notice how they’re listed in the same breath), lions roaring… It seems a lot like just from the passage above, the devil represents the lion, and is causing all of this war fare (etc):

Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour. (1 Pet 5:8)

Lions have roared; they have growled at him. They have laid waste his land; his towns are burned and deserted. (Jer 2:15)

But, if you look in revelation, you’ll find this verse:

Then one of the elders said to me, “Do not weep! See, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has triumphed. He is able to open the scroll and its seven seals.” (Rev 5:5)

Not only that, but look at this:

Think not that I came to send peace on the earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword. For I came to set a man at variance against his father, and the daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother in law.” (Matthew 10:34-35)

Sense I more or less know you’re going to be saying “Joshua, I’m confused!” I’ll try to explain; you and I both know that the Devil and God are not the same, and in fact, that’s considered the one and only unforgivable sin, correct? OK, so, the answer is simple… They both came to destroy, they both came to divide, they both came to bring war fare (look at the book of Joshua to see what I mean)… “But“, you’re probably saying “Joshua, I’ve always pictured Jesus as ‘the babe in a manager’, or the ‘lamb of God’. But you seem to be suggesting that that’s all wrong!”

Well, let me explain myself; Jesus is both the lamb of God, but not so much the ‘baby in the manager’, seeing as he came to die, and that was his main purpose, aside from teaching and preaching, of course… Anyway, Jesus as I just said, is both the little lamb, and the mighty lion, let’s look at some of both of their qualities (the lion’s and the lamb’s qualities, that is):

Lion:

1) Mighty

2) Noble

3) Savage

4) Strong

Now, I’m not, by any means, saying that Jesus was, is, or will be savage, but look at this verse:

And they came to Jerusalem. And he entered the temple and began to drive out those who sold and those who bought in the temple, and he overturned the tables of the money-changers and the seats of those who sold pigeons. (Mar 11:15)

Lamb:

1) Meek

2) Weak

3) Humble

4) Obedient

But, Jesus is also the shepherd… At the moment, this is probably confusing you, so I’ll put it into simple terms to end with:

What I’m trying to say is this; There are several sides to Jesus, more than we think.  And we need to be careful of the Devil… Thought I’d go ahead and remind you :-).

You are loved!

Joshua Cleveland

P.S. I apologize for my text suddenly getting small… It just suddenly turned that way, and I don’t know how to change font size in WordPress.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
