RSS

Don’t fear, God is here

16 Mar

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today:

For the LORD spoke thus to me with his strong hand upon me, and warned me not to walk in the way of this people, saying: “Do not call conspiracy all that this people calls conspiracy, and do not fear what they fear, nor be in dread. (Isa 8:11-12)

 

OK, you’ve got to admit… That seems a little foolish, wouldn’t you agree? I mean, plenty of people are afraid of heights, should I not be afraid of heights? People are afraid of venomous snakes, should I not be afraid of them? … That seems like a plain that will get you hospitalized pretty quickly. So, what is Isiah trying to say here, well let’s look at it in context (the verses behind, in this case):

Be broken, you peoples, and be shattered; give ear, all you far countries; strap on your armor and be shattered; strap on your armor and be shattered. Take counsel together, but it will come to nothing; speak a word, but it will not stand, for God is with us. (Isa 8:9-10)

 

Make more sense now? … We shouldn’t fear what the world fears, not in the sense of not being afraid of stuff like the tsunami in Japan, but don’t be afraid in the sense of God will crush you like an ant… Where as that’s a very real possibility for a large portion of people, (also known as; America), we don’t have to be afraid of God getting angry at us…

I think that I put that wrong, let me rephrase it a little more simply:

We should fear God with a holy fear, we should not fear what the world fears, and is in fact happening to them, iow (in other words), Muslims killing us because we’re Christians, the only way that could happen is if God wanted it to… And since you’re reading this, he apparently, currently doesn’t want that to happen.

I apologize if I was a little hard to follow; if you didn’t get what I was saying, please tell me about it… Preferably through a comment.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Don’t fear, God is here

  1. Pamelia

    January 1, 2013 at 3:27 PM

    I think some people are caught up in so much huge drama and fear in their lives. In fact they live that way and its normal for them. It’s the way they think and imagine and act. They can see something and it can look like a conspiracy to be feared. But they’re not happy until they draw others in with them. Perhaps also, it can mean, don’t get caught up in people’s dramas and fears and their so-called conspiracies but to stay separated. If you are a sensitive person, it’s easy to pick up the fear and drama of another person, and before you know it, you’re caught up in it. But thank God, we are able to stay separated and run into His refuge. We can fight the good fight of faith with God’s precious word!

     
    • Joshua Cleveland

      January 1, 2013 at 8:41 PM

      Very true Pamelia. Honestly, I really should get around to editing the posts I made back then, as I don’t entirely agree with all of them, ironically enough.

       
  2. Beth

    March 16, 2011 at 6:29 PM

    makes perfect sense to me! Thanks for your blog…you are getting better with each one!

     

Leave a Reply

 
