RSS

Fled Far, Fell Further

26 Apr

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in his word:

All your leaders have fled together; without the bow they were captured. All of you who were found were captured, though they had fled far away. (Isa 22:3)

Escape By Running by Laura Muhawesh (first two stanzas)

Today I will run as far as I can and I will not stop until I am spent. I will run from my fears, and run from the pain.

Today, I will run and I will run without gain. I will run, today, with a power to live. I will run with my love and my pride and my hate.

http://www.bpr.com/triathlon/poetry.htm

I thought this bit poetry described what I think of this verse fairly well… We can run with all our “love, pride, and hate” but in the end we won’t get anywhere. It doesn’t matter how far or fast we run, we “fall”. It doesn’t matter how good we try to be; we fall to flesh. And for that matter, – without God – we don’t even put up a fight! Without God’s all-consuming love and power we can not only not manage to escape from our sin, we gladly run right back to it! And you know something? The one and only way to not be “habitually in sin” is to be habitually in bondage to Jesus!

1 Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High 
   will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.[a] 
2 I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress, 
   my God, in whom I trust.” (Psalm 91:1-2)

Our one and only hope is Jesus and in him crucified! Otherwise we will continually run away;  just to be captured yet again…

You are loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
