RSS

Evil >> Wicked >> Ruin – Noble >> Noble Things >> Stand Firm

12 May

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in his word:

As for the scoundrel–his devices are evil; he plans wicked schemes to ruin the poor with lying words, even when the plea of the needy is right. But he who is noble plans noble things, and on noble things he stands. (Isa 32:7-8)

I for one always enjoy it when little patterns like these pop up in the bible. Here we see the gradual descent of the scoundrel. And the gradual ascent of the “noble”. Let’s start by reviewing the descent of the scoundrel shall we:

1 Blessed is the one 
   who does not walk in step with the wicked 
or stand in the way that sinners take 
   or sit in the company of mockers, (Psalm 1:1)

1

You can see the decline; from walking, to standing, to sitting with mockers… Just like that, you can see a person declining into “ruin” today as well… First it’s just a bit of quote “dabbling” in evil, such as getting drunk just once, or maybe smoking a little. Then that turns to a full “addiction”, and that leads to the over-all ruin of the person in question… But how can you and I prevent someone, including ourselves, from doing that? After all, there are so many temptations, it seems like an impossible task to even attempt to try to keep ourselves from “going astray” much less anyone else! Well, we can’t. It’s simply impossible to do, for everyone except God.

If you want to keep yourself, your children, or anyone for that matter, out of sin… You need God in your life! Their aren’t any buts, maybes, or possibilities about it! Only through Christ can we keep ourselves and others from being/becoming “scoundrels”.

2

But what about the other part of that? The part about “But he who is noble plans noble things, and on noble things he stands.” What does that mean to us? I mean, I don’t know about you, but this seems to be saying that by doing good deeds, we stand firm. And you and I both know that’s wrong… After all, we can’t earn God:

6 All of us have become like one who is unclean, 
   and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags; 
we all shrivel up like a leaf, 
   and like the wind our sins sweep us away. (Isaiah 64:6)

So what is it saying? I think it is saying exactly what it looks like it’s saying. That if we do noble things we get a noble foundation. Now, I would like you to think for a minute, before you came to Christ, did you ever, even once, do something that wouldn’t in one way or another benefit you? Well then, – since the answer is no – you haven’t done anything noble. Let’s look at the definition of noble:

the quality of elevation of mind and exaltation of character or ideals or conduct. –  wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn

You see, it’s impossible to do anything noble without Christ! Therefore, we must have Christ living us, before “we can stand on noble things”… – i.e. standing on noble things means standing on Jesus –

 2 The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; 
   my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, 
   my shield[a] and the horn[b] of my salvation, my stronghold. (Psalm 18:2)

I stand on the Rock of my salvation
It’s You, it’s You Lord
I’m resting on a sure foundation
It’s You, it’s You Lord
I will not fear for You are near
You’re the Rock of my salvation

http://www.lyricstime.com/joel-engle-rock-of-my-salvation-lyrics.html

So, in short; we need Christ in everything we do! We need him to prevent ourself and others from falling into ruin… Which would be considered a noble deed. Which we also need Christ in us to do…

You are loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
