RSS

Water, Lots and Lots of Water.

27 May

Hello again!

This is the talk I had today with God through his word:

When the poor and needy seek water, and there is none, and their tongue is parched with thirst, I the LORD will answer them; I the God of Israel will not forsake them. I will open rivers on the bare heights, and fountains in the midst of the valleys. I will make the wilderness a pool of water, and the dry land springs of water. (Isaiah 41:17-18)

Well, alright then… So what? I already had plenty of water why would I need more?

37 On the last and greatest day of the festival, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, “Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink. 38 Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.”[a] 39 By this he meant the Spirit, whom those who believed in him were later to receive. Up to that time the Spirit had not been given, since Jesus had not yet been glorified. (John 7:37-39)

3 For I will pour water on the thirsty land, 
   and streams on the dry ground; 
I will pour out my Spirit on your offspring, 
   and my blessing on your descendants. (Isaiah 44:3)

Oh, so what you’re trying to say is that the Holy Spirit is just being “likened to water”. Right? … Alright, but why do I even need the Holy Spirit, sure I get the whole part about how I would spiritually die of thirst without him but so what? What do I care if I spiritually die? In my opinion the here and now is what really matters.

28 Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell. (Matthew 10:28)

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. (Galatians 5:22-23)

So what you’re saying is that I need the Holy Spirit because he in fact effects both my Spiritual and Physical life? Well I suppose that makes sense. But what if I told you I already have all the fruits of the Spirit?

5 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. (John 15:5)

But I am in Jesus (the vine), it’s just I don’t have the Holy Spirit living in me.

7 For there are three that testify: 8 the[a] Spirit, the water and the blood; and the three are in agreement. (1 John 5:7-8)

19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name (not names; plural, but name; singular.) of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, (Matthew 28:19)

Ah, so your telling me that if I have Jesus living in me I also have the Holy Spirit living in me… OK then, one last question. Since I am obviously the “poor and needy person who is seeking water (the Holy Spirit)” talked about in the verse… Why is it  I’m still seeking? After all I have Jesus and therefore the Holy Spirit and God the Father living in me… Is it just that Christians are always looking for the Holy Spirit to lead in guide them?

If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. (James 1:5)

Oh, so what you’re saying is that because everyone needs guidance in everything they do, the Christian always has a hunger for the Holy Spirit and always should be asking God for more Wisdom.

You are loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
