RSS

I will not remember your sins.

02 Jun

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in his word:

The wild beasts will honor me, the jackals and the ostriches, for I give water in the wilderness, rivers in the desert, to give drink to my chosen people, the people whom I formed for myself that they might declare my praise. “Yet you did not call upon me, O Jacob; but you have been weary of me, O Israel! You have not brought me your sheep for burnt offerings, or honored me with your sacrifices. I have not burdened you with offerings, or wearied you with frankincense. You have not bought me sweet cane with money, or satisfied me with the fat of your sacrifices. But you have burdened me with your sins; you have wearied me with your iniquities. “I, I am he who blots out your transgressions for my own sake, and I will not remember your sins. (Isaiah 43:20-25)

Well that sure makes sense! If I don’t do what God wants me to do he will forget about what I just did! Yep, makes perfect sense.

1 What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase? 2 By no means! We are those who have died to sin; how can we live in it any longer? (Romans 6:1-2)

Well if that’s the case how can we get grace? How can we be saved if we don’t manage to “weary God with our iniquities”?

36(A) Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life;(B) whoever does not obey the Son shall not(C) see life, but the wrath of God remains on him. (John 3:36)

Ah, so all we have to do is weary God with our iniquities once. That makes things easier.

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith–and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God (Ephesians 2:8)

I’m starting to feel distinctly useless. What can I do?! Do I have no say in my own salvation? What about my rights as an american?!

There is neither Jew nor Greek, slave nor free, male nor female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. (Galatians 3:28)

OK forget what I said about being an american. But do I really not have any say in my salvation? Or is it just whether not I get lucky enough to be chosen by God?

16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. (John 3:16)

If that’s the case, then why isn’t everyone on earth saved?!

11For the grace of God that bringeth salvation hath appeared to all men,

 12Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world; (Titus 2:11-12)

18Therefore hath he mercy on whom he will have mercy, and whom he will he hardeneth. (Romans 9:18)

16 You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you so that you might go and bear fruit—fruit that will last—and so that whatever you ask in my name the Father will give you. (John 15:16)

So your point is that everyone can be saved. But it’s only those you choose who will end up choosing you? Well that seems a little unfair.

But who are you, O man, to talk back to God? “Shall what is formed say to him who formed it, ‘Why did you make me like this?'” Does not the potter have the right to make out of the same lump of clay some pottery for noble purposes and some for common use? (Romans 9:20-21)

So in reality everything in the verse in Isaiah makes sense… Because the Israelites didn’t offer sacrifices, and because you and I couldn’t obey the law, God had mercy on us and saved us!

You are loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
