RSS

Seeking God – The Rebel

08 Jun

God’s little talk with “the rebel”:

You have never heard, you have never known, from of old your ear has not been opened. For I knew that you would surely deal treacherously, and that from before birth you were called a rebel. “For my name’s sake I defer my anger, for the sake of my praise I restrain it for you, that I may not cut you off. Behold, I have refined you, but not as silver; I have tried you in the furnace of affliction. For my own sake, for my own sake, I do it, for how should my name be profaned? My glory I will not give to another. (Isa 48:8-11)

So let me get this straight, I’m def, “dealing treacherously”, a rebel, and I’m profaning your name… And because of it; you’re going to burn me up? Mercy?!

12Now if anyone builds on the foundation with gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, straw— 13(X) each one’s work will become manifest, for the Day will disclose it, because it will be revealed(Y) by fire, and(Z) the fire will test what sort of work each one has done. 14If the work that anyone has built on the foundation survives,(AA) he will receive a reward. 15If anyone’s work is burned up, he will suffer loss, though he himself will be saved,(AB) but only as through fire. (1 Corinthians 3:12-15)

I see; so what can I do to overcome this “test of fire” or whatever it is?

13 No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it. (1 Corinthians 10:13)

9 And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. (2 Corinthians 12:9)

Jesus is speaking in the next verse:

28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. (Matthew 11:28)

So you’re saying if I run to Jesus he will save me? What happened to “for the glory of my name” et cetera. I thought he was the one tempting me in the first place!
13 When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone;14 but each person is tempted when they are dragged away by their own evil desire and enticed. 15 Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death. (James 1:13-15)

Oh, so God actually did test me; but in reality it was me testing me; but it was also God; but it wasn’t. – How about we just say God allowed me to tempt myself… Or; something like that.

You are loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
