RSS

The People of God

14 Jun

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in his word:

And I have put my words in your mouth and covered you in the shadow of my hand, establishing the heavens and laying the foundations of the earth, and saying to Zion, ‘You are my people.'” (Isa 51:16)

my words in your mouth

And I have put my words in your mouth

But what does having God’s word in our mouth(s) mean? Does it mean we’re automatically good speakers?

7 For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline. (2 Timothy 1:7)

But how do we use that “power, love and self-discipline” to help us spread God’s word?

11 Whenever you are arrested and brought to trial, do not worry beforehand about what to say. Just say whatever is given you at the time, for it is not you speaking, but the Holy Spirit. (Mark 13:11)

“For it is not you speaking, but the Holy Spirit”, so what you’re saying is that should someone have the calling to preach God will just sort of give them what they should say when they’re at the pulpit? – Or maybe, and here’s a thought, you’re saying that what we do and say will change because of the Holy Spirit!

I’m covered.

and covered you in the shadow of my hand

So what again does it mean to be covered in the shadow of God’s hand?

1 Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High 
   will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.[a] 
2 I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress
   my God, in whom I trust.”

 3 Surely he will save you 
   from the fowler’s snare 
   and from the deadly pestilence. 
4 He will cover you with his feathers, 
   and under his wings you will find refuge; 
   his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.

So to be covered by the Lord means to be safe from the Devil’s temptation (1 Corinthians 10:13).

The People of God

establishing the heavens and laying the foundations of the earth, and saying to Zion, ‘You are my people.'”

And now the final question comes; what does it mean to be the people of God?

Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what we will be has not yet been made known. But we know that when he appears, we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is. (1 John 3:2)

But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light. (1 Peter 2:9)

So as people (i,e, Children) of God , our duty is quite simply to praise God for saving us.

You are loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
