RSS

Works, or Grace?

21 Jun

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in his word:

I will declare your righteousness and your deeds, but they will not profit you. When you cry out, let your collection of idols deliver you! The wind will carry them off, a breath will take them away. But he who takes refuge in me shall possess the land and shall inherit my holy mountain. (Isaiah 57:12-13)

So; I’m saved by grace? But that contradicts what I’ve been told! I’ve been told I need to paddle my boat as far as I could before turning on the engine…

16 know that a person is not justified by the works of the law, but by faith in Jesus Christ. So we, too, have put our faith in Christ Jesus that we may be justified by faith in[a] Christ and not by the works of the law, because by the works of the law no one will be justified. (Galatians 2:16)

So should I do?! There’s nothing left!

24 You see that a person is considered righteous by what they do and not by faith alone.

 25 In the same way, was not even Rahab the prostitute considered righteous for what she did when she gave lodging to the spies and sent them off in a different direction? 26 As the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead. (James 2:24-26)

OK, but what should I do?

7 John said to the crowds coming out to be baptized by him, “You brood of vipers! Who warned you to flee from the coming wrath? 8 Produce fruit in keeping with repentance. And do not begin to say to yourselves, ‘We have Abraham as our father.’ For I tell you that out of these stones God can raise up children for Abraham. 9 The ax is already at the root of the trees, and every tree that does not produce good fruit will be cut down and thrown into the fire.”

 10 “What should we do then?” the crowd asked.

 11 John answered, “Anyone who has two shirts should share with the one who has none, and anyone who has food should do the same.” (Luke 3:7-11)

I knew it! Works are required to be saved!

for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose. (Philippians 2:13)

Ah; so really I do nothing good, it’s actually God doing it through me. So I think what you’re saying is this; My works are useless and I can do nothing to save myself. But when you enter into me and save me, you give me the ability and the want to serve you (God). And that’s why James say that faith without works is dead; because just believing (having faith), isn’t enough, I need to actually let you come in and work in me to will and to do.

You are loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
