RSS

God Who Saves

29 Jun

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in his word:

For the day of vengeance was in my heart, and my year of redemption had come. I looked, but there was no one to help; I was appalled, but there was no one to uphold; so my own arm brought me salvation, and my wrath upheld me. (Isaiah 63:4-5)

God’s fury needed to be unleashed because of our sins and disobedience towards him. So he (God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit) made a way; he would send his one and only son to take our place, to be cursed and rejected for us… And when the hour came when Jesus was to be crucified, cursed, and rejected by his father for us came; he prayed that God would let this cup pass from him, but he didn’t. Then he looked around, and found even his disciples were no longer there for him. So he alone took every last drop of God’s wrath onto and into himself. – That, is the Gospel of Christ Jesus. It isn’t complicated, it isn’t hard to understand. It just is what it is; our salvation.

Video URL: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1TtupQ24bHo

You are loved!
Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “God Who Saves

  1. altonwoods

    June 29, 2011 at 8:58 PM

    Joshua, By this statement are you implying that man was created evil?

    “The sin-nature was part of our being, and because of that, or more accurately what it caused; our disobedience towards God, we needed to be punished.”

    It sounds as if you’re saying that sin in man existed before the fall?

    If that were the case why would God punish us for doing what we were “hardwired” or created by Him to do? We were created with a freewill which is in keeping with Him being a loving God, our disobedience was our choice and consequently also our responsibility to bear which is why Jesus came to earth and died to offer us an alternative to the wages of sin in our lives which is death.

    Allow me to clarify my earlier statement, many people do believe that God is mad at them and are therefore afraid to seek out His presence. In my most recent blog I explore this commonly held misconception and present my own sense of how I believe God feels about sin.

    What do you think?

     
    • Joshua Cleveland

      June 29, 2011 at 9:31 PM

      Dear Altonwoods,

      I apologize for not making myself clear, man was not created Evil, man was created in the image of God. Only after the fall did sin come. So to clarify: yes the sin-nature was part of our being, but it only became so after the fall. The same way that God’s wrath only came after the fall.

      Also I think that when people think that God is “mad” at them, it is in fact quite possibly a test they are being put through. – See 1 Corinthians 10:13 and Isaiah 48:10. – God will test us in order to give us a better understanding of him and/or his word (the Bible).

      — Joshua

       
  2. altonwoods

    June 29, 2011 at 2:31 PM

    Joshua, I’m very impressed with what you’re doing here!

    “God’s fury needed to be unleashed because of our sins and disobedience towards him.”

    Based on this statement, are you saying that God is mad at us?

    What might this have to do with why it is that no sin can come into His presence?

    I’ve recently written about this same topic on my blog,perhaps we could help each other learn more about our heavenly Father!

     
    • Joshua Cleveland

      June 29, 2011 at 7:08 PM

      Dear Altonwoods,

      To answer your question about my statement; God isn’t mad at us, he’s mad at our sinful nature which was crucified… This is a touchy subject to explain, so I apologize if I am a little confusing but I’ll try my best not to be:

      The sin-nature was part of our being, and because of that, or more accurately what it caused; our disobedience towards God, we needed to be punished. However, because Christ came and took our place – took all of our sin nature onto himself – we are saved from God’s wrath. So what I’m saying by that statement (the one you mentioned), is that God was formerly mad at us because of the sin nature we had, but is so no longer because Christ took God’s “madness” (wrath) onto himself for us.

      And I do apologize, but could you explain further what you meant when you said “What might this have to do with why it is that no sin can come into His presence?” Thank you.

      — Joshua

       

Leave a Reply

 
