RSS

Jeremiah

01 Jul

Hello again!

Today I’ll be starting the book of Jeremiah! – This is what God gave me today in his word:

God is speaking to Jeremiah here:

For behold, I am calling all the tribes of the kingdoms of the north, declares the LORD, and they shall come, and every one shall set his throne at the entrance of the gates of Jerusalem, against all its walls all around and against all the cities of Judah. (Jeremiah 1:15)

But you, dress yourself for work; arise, and say to them everything that I command you. Do not be dismayed by them, lest I dismay you before them. And I, behold, I make you this day a fortified city, an iron pillar, and bronze walls, against the whole land, against the kings of Judah, its officials, its priests, and the people of the land. They will fight against you, but they shall not prevail against you, for I am with you, declares the LORD, to deliver you.” (Jeremiah 1:17-19)

God protects his own, as he protected Jeremiah. It’s a simple fact of life. So, why is it then that God’s own. – Christians – So, why then is it that Christians go through “hard times” in life, such as: loss of money, loss of a job, or even some sort of natural disaster that ends up “ruining their life.” Why?

12 If we endure, (A)we will also reign with Him; 
If we [a](B)deny Him, He also will deny us; (2 Timothy 2:12)

12 Indeed, all who desire to live godly in Christ Jesus (A)will be persecuted. (2 Timothy 3:12)

But the question is why? Why will Christians be persecuted? After all, if God protected Jeremiah why wouldn’t he protect us?

7 Because of the surpassing greatness of the (A)revelations, for this reason, to keep me from exalting myself, there was given me a (B)thorn in the flesh, a (C)messenger of Satan to [a]torment me—to keep me from exalting myself! (2 Corinthians 12:7)

So Christians are given ‘a thorn in their flesh’ to keep them from getting prideful… But that could be applied to only Teachers and Preachers who God has blessed with visions and revelations.

1 (A)Therefore, having been justified by faith, [a](B)we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, 2 through whom also we have (C)obtained our introduction by faith into this grace (D)in which we stand; and [b]we exult in hope of the glory of God. 3 (E)And not only this, but [c]we also (F)exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about(G)perseverance; 4 and (H)perseverance, (I)proven character; and proven character, hope; 5 and hope (J)does not disappoint, because the love of God has been (K)poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us. (Romans 5:1-5)

So God “wouldn’t protect us” in order to build our (a Christians) perseverance? Don’t you think that seems just a bit harsh? And if God just leaves me to “roast for a bit”, how am I to not die in the process?

13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength. (Philippians 4:13)

That seems like your saying that (God never leaves us)… Oh. So in reality, God never actually leaves us to die? He’s there the whole time, walking with us in the fire so to speak? So in reality, we were never actually “undefended” but instead simply going through a test that God knew we could bear; with him by our side the whole time!

You are loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
