RSS

Forgotten Covenant; Returned Children

02 Jul

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in his word:

Return, O faithless children, declares the LORD; for I am your master; I will take you, one from a city and two from a family, and I will bring you to Zion. “‘And I will give you shepherds after my own heart, who will feed you with knowledge and understanding. And when you have multiplied and increased in the land, in those days, declares the LORD, they shall no more say, “The ark of the covenant of the LORD.” It shall not come to mind or be remembered or missed; it shall not be made again. (Jeremiah 3:14-16)

It’s simple, and it’s sweet. It’s that Christ Jesus died and rose again for us, so that we would no longer have to remember or even think about the old covenant… That’s all to it really. We were faithless children who had turned aside to broken cisterns (Jeremiah 2:11-13), we had forsaken the fountain of life. Yet even so Jesus sent us the shepherd, Jesus, who was slain for us. And now there is no more old law. No more need to sacrifice for salvation.

“Come, let us return to the LORD. He has torn us to pieces but he will heal us; he has injured us but he will bind up our wounds. (Hosea 6:1)

“See now that I myself am He! There is no god besides me. I put to death and I bring to life, I have wounded and I will heal, and no one can deliver out of my hand. (Deuteronomy 32:39)

A voice on the bare heights is heard, the weeping and pleading of Israel’s sons because they have perverted their way; they have forgotten the LORD their God. “Return, O faithless sons; I will heal your faithlessness.” “Behold, we come to you, for you are the LORD our God. (Jeremiah 3:21-22)

But I will restore you to health and heal your wounds,’ declares the LORD, ‘because you are called an outcast, Zion for whom no one cares.’ (Jeremiah 30:17)

He sent forth his word and healed them; he rescued them from the grave. (Psalm 107:20)

The Gospel (of Jesus) is one of the simplest things to understand, yet it’s profoundness and effect is eternal.

You are loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
