RSS

God’s Wrath; God’s Way; and Back To Wrath

06 Jul

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in his word:

Therefore I am full of the wrath of the LORD; I am weary of holding it in. “Pour it out upon the children in the street, and upon the gatherings of young men, also; both husband and wife shall be taken, the elderly and the very aged. (Jeremiah 6:11)

God’s Wrath (above)

Thus says the LORD: “Stand by the roads, and look, and ask for the ancient paths, where the good way is; and walk in it, and find rest for your souls. But they said, ‘We will not walk in it.’ (Jeremiah 6:16)

God’s Rejected Way (above)

Therefore hear, O nations, and know, O congregation, what will happen to them. Hear, O earth; behold, I am bringing disaster upon this people, the fruit of their devices, because they have not paid attention to my words; and as for my law, they have rejected it. (Jeremiah 6:18-19)

And back to God’s wrath. Why? Because the law is life, (right?) and they didn’t obey. Speaking of which, I’ve “rejected the law” in a sense because I have no ability to obey it. So why hasn’t this same fate befallen me? After all, I’m deserving of God’s wrath, as are you. So, why hasn’t God burned me up yet?

Now that faith has come, we are no longer under the supervision of the law. (Galatians 3:25)

Well If I’m no longer “under supervision”, why not simply go and have a party in the world? … After all, God won’t give me the same fate as the fellas above. What does God expect me to do if I don’t have restrictions; start taking drugs and drinking? Well, obviously that can’t be it because of Romans 6, but what does God want me to do? I feel useless just sitting around.

14 “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven. (Matthew 5:14-16)

So, once again, all I have to do is let Jesus do it.

So in summary:

we no longer have to fear God’s wrath being poured down on us, because Jesus took it for us when he fulfilled the law. And, because Jesus is the fulfillment of the law, I no longer am “supervised” or controlled by the law, but instead by Jesus.

Which in turn all means just one thing: though I did nothing to earn my salvation, in fact though I did the opposite of trying to earn it, Jesus still saved me and you!

You are loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
