RSS

Because of What You’ve Done

18 Jul

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in his word:

The word that came to Jeremiah from the LORD after Nebuzaradan the captain of the guard had let him go from Ramah, when he took him bound in chains along with all the captives of Jerusalem and Judah who were being exiled to Babylon. The captain of the guard took Jeremiah and said to him, “The LORD your God pronounced this disaster against this place. The LORD has brought it about, and has done as he said. Because you sinned against the LORD and did not obey his voice, this thing has come upon you. (Jeremiah 40:1-3)

Because of what you’ve done this has come upon you. Because of what Jeremiah did, he was punished. Well let’s say I have a ton of debt, I suppose does that mean God’s punishing me? Now that I think about it, my car broke down, Is the resonable conclusion though that I must have disobeyed the Lord? … Careful; one false step could mean the dishwasher is next! – We don’t have to live that way, obviously (unlike Jeremiah). But think about it, why is it we don’t have to live in fear of doing something wrong in God’s eyes?

21 God made him who had no sin to be sin[b] for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God. (2 Corinthians 5:21)

Yeah, yeah, yeah, we’ve all heard that verse and I don’t see how it changes anything. Sure Christ became sin for us, but that only covers what happened before not what will happen.

for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose. (Philippians 2:13)

Ah, so God’s working in me now to will and to act according to his good purpose. That would explain the not-broken-state of the toaster I suppose… So just give me a minute here to get this all straight:

Because Christ became sin and died, God now lives in me, and now I’m free to do whatever I want. With no limits or bounds what so ever. Without there being a resulting earthquake, volcanic explosion, etc. I’m free, free, free! After all I can’t do anything God doesn’t want me to, so obviously I can do whatever I want to!

1 What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase? 2 By no means! We are those who have died to sin; how can we live in it any longer? 3 Or don’t you know that all of us who were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death? 4 We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life.

 5 For if we have been united with him in a death like his, we will certainly also be united with him in a resurrection like his.6 For we know that our old self was crucified with him so that the body ruled by sin might be done away with,[a] that we should no longer be slaves to sin— 7 because anyone who has died has been set free from sin. (Romans 6:1-7)

Ah, well let me revise my summary then:

Because of what he (Jesus) di(e)d for me and therefore I am free, yes, but that freedom is freedom from sin, and slavery to Christ.

You are loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
