RSS

Yoked to Christ

25 Jul

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in his word:

“My transgressions were bound into a yoke; by his hand they were fastened together; they were set upon my neck; he caused my strength to fail; the Lord gave me into the hands of those whom I cannot withstand. (Lamentations 1:14)

Our sins (above).

The Lord has become like an enemy; he has swallowed up Israel; he has swallowed up all its palaces; he has laid in ruins its strongholds, and he has multiplied in the daughter of Judah mourning and lamentation. (Lamentations 2:5)

The result thereof (also above). – The result of sin is that God becomes an enemy. But what I find interesting, is that God himself is the one who put the yoke around Israel’s – the author is referring to himself as Israel here – neck. Does but does this apply to us? Well no, it doesn’t actually. But why doesn’t it? And if (because) it doesn’t, what burden do we have, if any?

Now that faith has come, we are no longer under the supervision of the law. (Galatians 3:25)

Why doesn’t it apply to us? Because unlike the Israelites, all our transgressions were bound up onto Jesus for us. He bore our yoke for us and now we’re no longer under the supervision of the law. But what is it we’re under now, if not the law or our sins (guilt, etc), then what?

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-29)

The “yoke” we now bear is Christ. But what’s the point of saying all this? What’s the conclusion? Because Christ, God’s only son, died and rose again for us, the burden we now bare is not one of guilt, but one of freedom in Christ. – We’re now yoked to Christ, and that’s quite freeing!

You are loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
