RSS

Our Bodies are Not Our Own

25 Aug

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in his word:

What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin that grace may abound? By no means! How can we who died to sin still live in it? (Romans 6:1-2)

How did we die to sin? What exactly does that even mean? And if I died to sin, why is it I still sin?

First, we need to answer some questions… For example, how did we die to sin again?

We know that our old self was crucified with him in order that the body of sin might be brought to nothing, so that we would no longer be enslaved to sin. (Romans 6:6)

We died to sin when it was crucified. Well, of course, another important question seems to come, “If I’ve died to sin, why do I still sin?!”

For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may be revealed in our mortal body. (2 Corinthians 4:11)

We still sin because we’re human. Paul’s point is that being a Christian doesn’t mean we can “sin all we want,” but in fact the opposite. It means that we have died to sin and live in Christ. – We no longer live in sin i.e., though we still sin, we aren’t trapped by it.

“Everything is permissible for me”–but not everything is beneficial. “Everything is permissible for me”–but I will not be mastered by anything. (1 Corinthians 6:12)

Second, we need to know why it’s so important to realize we’ve died to sin and now live in Christ… What’s the point?

For one who has died has been set free from sin. Now if we have died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him. (Romans 6:7-8)

I’ll put it things this way: we have died to sin, we cannot live in it any longer. Instead, we now have no choice but to live in Christ. To live in sin is death, and we now realize that.

For if you live according to the sinful nature, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live, (Romans 8:13)

To know what I just said, is to realize we’ve died to sin and now live in Christ. That’s why it’s so important to realize it, and why Paul brings it out so often. When we become Christians, we recognize that we no longer can just do whatever we want to, instead, our bodies are the very temples of God himself! Why would you want to defile them?

16 Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst? (1 Corinthians 3:16)

I belive both my own, and Paul’s “points” in this passage can be summed up in this verse:

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. (Galatians 2:20)

You are Loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
