RSS

Procedure of Grace

08 Sep

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in his word:

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it. (1 Corinthians 10:13)

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man? Paul must mean, “no temptation has overtaken you yet that is not common to man.” Because of course, any struggle I have is completely unique to me, I may have a struggle that is common to man, but…

First, What does Paul mean when he talks about how, “no temptation has overtaken them that isn’t common to man?” …

Therefore, my beloved, flee from idolatry. I speak as to sensible people; judge for yourselves what I say. (1 Corinthians 10:14-15)

It’s an important, even vital thing to realize that your struggles (as are mine) are in fact, common to people in general. The reason for the importance of this is for one, it allows us to share our struggles more easily with accountability partners.

Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective. (James 5:16)

Also, people who think they’re case is, “unique” will typically (but not always) stop being very useful to people in general. But that isn’t the point of what Paul is saying. He’s talking about God, “making a way” for us to endure temptation. But why doesn’t God simply take away the temptation? Doesn’t he have the power? Of course he does! So why doesn’t he use it?

6 Even if I should choose to boast, I would not be a fool, because I would be speaking the truth. But I refrain, so no one will think more of me than is warranted by what I do or say, 7 or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. 8 Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9 But he said to me,“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. (2 Corinthians 12:6-9)

We’re given “thorns” in our flesh to keep us humble, this humility is the goal of the whole procedure. That is what it is too; a procedure in which a thorn is put in, a dose of power is injected and the whole thing is covered with a thick layer of grace. In one case I can think of, it was different though. God was the one being injected with nails, while we jeered, only instead of grace he only got wrath. That procedure, is the one that gave us the grace, along with making us sons of God.

Second, what exactly does God consider, “beyond our ability”? … He is God after all, how could he know how much I can handle? It’s not like he has ever been temped (right?).

The cup of blessing that we bless, is it not a participation in the blood of Christ? The bread that we break, is it not a participation in the body of Christ? (1 Corinthians 10:16)

God knows how much we can handle, because for one he made us more than that though, he’s experienced the temptation himself. One would think that perhaps it may have been just a little tempting to do as the voices all around Him (meaning Jesus) were jeering him on to do; to simply release Himself from the cross. But he’d rather suffer for us than have us die (eternally).

The point being that, simply put, God will and has provided a way for us in every circumstance. the “way” being the way, also known as, “Jesus Christ”; the way, the truth and the life. He’s the one who provides a way to endure temptation, provides a light of truth where there is the darkness of deception all around, and gives us eternal life trough Himself.

You are Loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
