RSS

The Substitute Sermon

06 Nov

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in his word (sorry for the detour away from 1 Timothy – The Pastor didn’t preach the Gospel):

 22 And now, behold, bound by the [f]Spirit, (O)I am on my way to Jerusalem, not knowing what will happen to me there, 23 except that (P)the Holy Spirit solemnly (Q)testifies to me in every city, saying that(R)bonds and afflictions await me. 24 But (S)I do not consider my life of any account as dear to myself, so that I may (T)finish my course and (U)the ministry which I received from the Lord Jesus, to (V)testify solemnly of the gospel of (W)the grace of God. (Acts 20:22-24)

What I wonder, is the point of this passage? Is it how Paul was afflicted? Possibly that he thought he was going to die and thus wanted to give them some final words? No. This passage is on one thing: The gospel. Why do you think that is? Because it is the most important thing in the bible (so important, it’s all through the Bible).

 22 And now, behold, bound by the [f]Spirit, (O)I am on my way to Jerusalem, not knowing what will happen to me there,

But Paul, why would you go back to Jerusalem? They crucified Jesus there! Yet you’re headed there of your own free will? Why would you do that?

24 But (S)I do not consider my life of any account as dear to myself, so that I may (T)finish my course and (U)the ministry which I received from the Lord Jesus, to (V)testify solemnly of the gospel of (W)the grace of God.

Paul was willing to go to Jerusalem; where he knew prison awaited him, to share that which is of utmost importance: the Gospel of Jesus Christ. He didn’t even consider his life valuable, rather, he was willing to lay his own life down so that others might be saved. That is a perfect example for us; because Jesus laid his life down of his own accord, we should be like Paul in spreading the good news of Jesus! Which is that he died, was buried, and three days later rose again.

The Gospel; the grace of God; our salvation; the God-man crucified: This is the most important thing there is. This “good news” is our life and salvation: We should be sharing it!

You are Loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
