RSS

Transquotation: Genesis 9:4-5

12 Dec

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in His word:

Verses:

But you shall not eat flesh with its life, that is, its blood. And for your lifeblood I will require a reckoning: from every beast I will require it and from man. From his fellow man I will require a reckoning for the life of man. (Genesis 9:4-5)

Transquotation:

And for your lifeblood I required a reckoning: my son has now paid that price with His lifeblood.

Explanation of the transquote:

God requires a ‘reckoning’ for our sins. He is a holy God and can’t look at, much less accept, sin. There always must be something to cover over; something to make us right with God.  Christ did more, however, then simply sweep our sins under the metaphorical rug of His blood; He actually took them on Himself, became guilty, on our behalf. Thus we no longer have that sin and guilt anymore. Likewise, our ‘Old Man’ who used to enjoy such sin has been replaced with the ‘New Man’: Christ Himself. — Jesus became that ‘reckoning for man’, He became the atoning sacrifice.

When all our works fell flat; when all our trying was but failing; when everything we ever did turned to not; when everything which we tried, failed; when we realized that we couldn’t work our way to Heaven; when we found out that death was a very real, reality that no work on our part would be able to avoid; when we discovered helping the old women cross the street wasn’t enough to get to Heaven, that’s when we realize we needed a savior. Someone to be perfect on our behalf. God knew He was/is/will be a righteous God, that’s why He told Noah to offer sacrifices: to atone for His sin. Noah knew he needed a sacrifice. In fact,he and his family probably knew better than anyone else. Seeing as they had just disembarked from the ark which they had ridden on, while God destroyed all sinful life. My question is: do we know it? It’s often easy to become ‘docile’ towards the Gospel.

“Yes, yes, I’ve heard that all before. Now can we please move on?!”

Sometimes, in fact, God will purposefully put us in the positions I mentioned. Sometimes He’ll allow us to go down a quick detour; however, when He does this, He attaches a ‘rope’ to us (fyi, the rope is named Jesus) who prevents us from actually falling off the cliff at the end. It’ll let us totter, enough for us to realize we’ve made a big fat mistake and can’t do ____ (fill in the blank) to be saved. That’s the point when He reals us back in and sets us back on the path we should be following. He wants us to re-realize our need for His son. If we become docile towards Jesus, we put ourselves into a dangerous position. Think of it like this: when we start thinking we don’t need Jesus, we do the Spiritual equivalent of saying,

“Do I really need this rope which is preventing me from plummeting to my death?”

How about we avoid asking that question all together, and instead pray as Agur (son of Jakeh) did:

7 “Two things I ask of you, LORD; 
   do not refuse me before I die: 
8 Keep falsehood and lies far from me; 
   give me neither poverty nor riches, 
   but give me only my daily bread. 
9 Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you 
   and say, ‘Who is the LORD?’ 
Or I may become poor and steal, 
   and so dishonor the name of my God. (Proverbs 30:7-9)

So, now that we’ve explained the transquote, we should verify it as we always do:

New Testament confirmation:

This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins. (Matthew 26:28)

Context confirmation:

Every moving thing that lives shall be food for you. And as I gave you the green plants, I give you everything. (Genesis 9:3)

A lead-in to God talking about animals and their blood. This supports the transquote by leading into it.

“Whoever sheds the blood of man, by man shall his blood be shed, for God made man in his own image. And you, be fruitful and multiply, teem on the earth and multiply in it.” (Genesis 9:6-7)

Notice that when we see a picture of the cross, we then see a type of victory: “be fruitful and multiply,” This is because after the cross, there was also victory. Therefore any shadow almost every shadow of the cross includes victory of some sort. This ‘shadow’ (something which isn’t completely clear, but still represents something else) has that.

You are Loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
