RSS

Transquotation: Genesis 17:1-2

21 Dec

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in His word:

Verses:

When Abram was ninety-nine years old the LORD appeared to Abram and said to him, “I am God Almighty; walk before me, and be blameless, that I may make my covenant between me and you, and may multiply you greatly.” (Genesis 17:1-2)

Transquote:

The LORD appeared to Jesus and said to him, “I am God Almighty; walk before me, and be blameless, that I may make my covenant between me and you, and may multiply you greatly.”

Explanation of the transquote:

Christ was completely blameless; the only man who truly was, in fact. He is the only person who can walk before God without dying. That’s why we’re only a ‘great nation’ in Christ. Otherwise we couldn’t pray, we couldn’t even hold the name Christians. However, God required more of Jesus than He did of Abram (soon to be known as Abraham). He required Christ’s actual death. Yes, He had to walk before God; all the way up the road to the cross. Yes, He had to be blameless, otherwise His sacrifice wouldn’t mean anything! Everything He did and said was on our behalf; to save us.

People talk about two covenants: the Edenic and the Adamic, but what they don’t realize is that there’s a third! It’s the Last Adamic covenant; the Christ covenant. We are no longer under the law of the Old Testament, we are under the Law of Liberty (see: James 2:12). Under this law things are different. Under this law Christ has made us holy through His own holy sacrifice of Himself. Through His blameless life, we are made blameless. Through His walking before God as Holy and pure, we can now walk before God as holy and pure. Everything we’ve done: forgiven at the foot of the cross:

At the foot of the cross
Where grace and suffering meet
You have shown me Your love
Through the judgment You received

And You’ve won my heart
Yes You’ve won my heart
Now I can

Trade these ashes in for beauty
And wear forgiveness like a crown
Coming to kiss the feet of mercy
I lay every burden down
At the foot of the cross

At the foot of the cross
Where I am made complete
You have given me life
Through the death You bore for me

— Source: http://www.allthelyrics.com/lyrics/kathryn_scott/at_the_foot_of_the_cross_ashes_to_beauty-lyrics-1205324.html

New Testament confirmation:

But now he has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in his sight, without blemish and free from accusation– (Colossians 1:22)

Context confirmation:

Then Abram fell on his face. And God said to him, “Behold, my covenant is with you, and you shall be the father of a multitude of nations. (Genesis 17:3-4)

That could also be said: when Abram went down to the Earth (the dirt), then God made the covenant with him that he would be the father of great multitude. Rather like Christ, actually. — These verses support the connection between Jesus and Abram here.

You are Loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
