RSS

God’s Grace is Sufficient

09 Mar

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in His word:

So to keep me from becoming conceited because of the surpassing greatness of the revelations, a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to harass me, to keep me from becoming conceited. Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. (2 Corinthians 12:7-9)

God is sovereign over everything. And, though He can never be the author of sin, He’s also sovereign over sin. – In the sense that He allows or disallows Satan to do things. – And thus, can choose whether to “take away” sin, or to allow Satan to tempt. He allows Satan to tempt for several reasons, but here we see it’s to keep Paul humble, and to allow Him to experience God’s grace.

Now, please keep in mind, that we should always try to resist sin, in God’s power. Look at what Paul did: He prayed three times for God to ‘take it away’, and only stopped when God actually told him to stop. Or, in other words: just because you have an issue in your life where you aren’t overcoming, doesn’t mean that you’ll never overcome; everyone is given “grace” to overcome. God always provides a way out, it’s just that Satan is allowed to continue to tempt us with whatever God allows him to tempt us with.

No one on Earth knows why God chooses to do things; His ways are far above ours. But something we do know, is that whatever He does, He does it for our good and His glory. In Paul’s case, he could “brag in His weakness,” about how God’s grace was so powerful, that even though he was tempted in whatever issue he was tempted in, God allowed him to overcome! Not only Paul, but all Christians can “brag” like that: “Even though I’m so weak, God is strong! Even though I fall, He lifts me up again! Even though I stand naked in my sin, He clothes me in His sacrifice! Even though I have no ability of my own to overcome, God works to overcome through me!” etc., etc..

The point being simply this: God uses our weakness for His glory. So let’s be like Paul, “and boast all the more gladly” in our weakness, so that the power of Christ will rest on us; the power of Christ which gives us strength in our weakness.

You are Loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2012 in Delivered Through Love

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “God’s Grace is Sufficient

Leave a Reply

 
