RSS

Lip-Worship

29 Mar

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in His word:

And he said to them, “Well did Isaiah prophesy of you hypocrites, as it is written, “‘This people honors me with their lips, but their heart is far from me; in vain do they worship me, teaching as doctrines the commandments of men.’ You leave the commandment of God and hold to the tradition of men.” (Mark 7:6-8)

We’re presented here with one thing Jesus, rather self-evidently, hates: lip-worship. He hates when people praise Him only with their mouths and not with their actions. These are the people who prefer holding to the “traditions of men,” then to hold to what God wants. i.e. Those who, as a tradition, go to Church, yet don’t experience any change in the way they live their lives. Those who read their bibles every day, yet, as James put it, after looking in the mirror and seeing how dirty they are, walk away unchanged. Those who are ‘fake’, or merely external, Christians. It’s the same as if we were trying to love God with what we say, instead of what we do:

Little children, let us not love with word or with tongue but in deed and truth. (1 John 3:18)

Now please don’t get me wrong, I’m not condemning going to Church or reading the Bible! Those are very good things, and should be done regularly. But you’re wasting your time if you go to a Church, listen for an hour, then leave unchanged. Likewise you’re wasting your time if you read the Bible, but don’t do what it tells you to do, or just plain out read it with a closed mind… To put it another way: the Bible is useless to you, as is Church, as is meeting with other believers, if you don’t grow by it.

The point being this: either we must ‘do all things to the Lord’, by growing as Christians in doing them, or not do them at all.

You are Loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Lip-Worship

  1. dove124

    April 8, 2012 at 5:26 PM

    A true Christian cannot act on it’s own, he must be always guided by the law of God.
    Examples:
    1. You cannot say that you love God when you are not obeying His commandments, that is lip-service.
    2. If we say that we have fellowship with him, and walk in darkness, we lie, and do not the truth;(I John 1:6)
    3. But whoso keepeth his word, in him verily is the love of God perfected : hereby know we that we are in him.(I John 2:5)

    So if you are really a Christian you must always abide and must be guided by the Law of God.l

     
  2. dove124

    April 7, 2012 at 4:51 AM

    1) “What do you define as Law?”
    You mean to tell me that you have no slightest idea of what you are writing in that article of yours?

    2) “Where do you see me mention the law in my post?”

    a. When you talked about the topic of Lip worship.
    b) When you use Mark 7:6-8 as your references or guides for your post, you are actually referring to a particular law, the commandments of God. And mind you, this is not an earthly law.

    So next time before you posted or write another article, try to understand your intended topic first. Ok?

     
    • Joshua Cleveland

      April 7, 2012 at 1:56 PM

      I think we must be understanding my post differently. To me, it was an abomination to not only serve God with your mouth, but with your actions. No where in my post do I see a reference to, or mention of the law. I’ve also looked at the Ten Commandments, to see if you were referring to that, but no where there does it talk about what I posted on. Could you perhaps tell me what law it seems I’m referring to? I know exactly what I wrote, and I understand it. However, it seems you must understand it different than I do. Are you talking about when I talk reference 1 John 3:18? Let me remind you of what Mark 7:6-8 says:

      And he said to them, “Well did Isaiah prophesy of you hypocrites, as it is written, “‘This people honors me with their lips, but their heart is far from me; in vain do they worship me, teaching as doctrines the commandments of men.’ You leave the commandment of God and hold to the tradition of men.” (Mark 7:6-8)

      I see where he talks about the pharisees leaving the commandment of God, is that what you’re referring to? As to my talking on lip-worship, perhaps you could explain to me what commandment has to do with that.

      As for understanding my intended topic, I do understand it. However, it seems you understand very different than I understand it. I understand it to mean that we aren’t to serve God only with our lips, but with our actions. I’m not sure how you interpret it.

      Thank you for your feedback,

      Joshua

       
  3. dove124

    March 31, 2012 at 7:22 PM

    Did you really understand your own article ? You cited Mark 7:6-8, and then you gonna tell me that you have not mentioned any God’s law? What part of Mark 7: 6-8 that you did not understand ?
    And by the way, read again your article , and see if there is a single verse of Roman 13 that you wrote.
    I think you are a very confused person.

     
    • Joshua Cleveland

      March 31, 2012 at 8:20 PM

      Well, I’m sorry that you feel that I’m confused. But I suppose there isn’t much I can do to change your opinion there. 🙂

      To answer your first question: yes, I do understand my post.

      To answer your second question: Yes, I did cite Mark 7:6-8, and I do see where he talks about the doctrines and commandments of men, and about man’s tradition, but no where do I see where He talks about, “God’s law.” Perhaps you could tell me where you do see God’s law in that passage?

      “And by the way, read again your article , and see if there is a single verse of Roman 13 that you wrote.” Yes, I know I never mentioned Romans 13 in my post. However, I did mention it in my first response to you, and as I didn’t see anywhere in my post where I mention the law, only where I mention “the tradition of man,” I thought you must be referring to my first response to you; the one where I mention Romans 13. Here’s a reminder of what I said, with my reference to Romans 13 in bold:

      “1. You “grow” when you don’t only hear, or read something, but actually do it. i.e. If you read in your Bible about obeying the law (Romans 13), you jolly well better start, if you aren’t already, obeying the law!”

      So, here are my questions for you:

      1. What do you define as “law”?
      2. Where do you see me mention the law in my post?

      Thank you for your time, and I apologize for all this confusion,

      Joshua

       
  4. dove124

    March 30, 2012 at 9:18 AM

    Another question:
    Whose laws must we have to obey, Moses or Christ?
    What are the laws that we must have to obey?
    How many are them ?

    That’s all for now.
    Thanks !

     
    • Joshua Cleveland

      March 30, 2012 at 2:01 PM

      I’m sorry, where is it I mention that we have to obey any law (one minute while I explain, please)? If you’re referring to my previous comment about reading in the Bible that we should obey the law, I was talking about the actual, local, Earthly law; which is what Romans 13 is talking about.

      But, to answer your questions:

      1. Whose laws must we obey; Moses’ or Christ’s? Well, the Bible says in no uncertain terms that the law of Moses has been done away with:

      If You Follow The Israelite Law, Christ Has Become Useless To You (Galatians 5:3-4)

      11 Therefore, remember that formerly you who are Gentiles by birth and called “uncircumcised” by those who call themselves “the circumcision” (which is done in the body by human hands)— 12 remember that at that time you were separate from Christ, excluded from citizenship in Israel and foreigners to the covenants of the promise, without hope and without God in the world. 13 But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far away have been brought near by the blood of Christ.
      14 For he himself is our peace, who has made the two groups one and has destroyed the barrier, the dividing wall of hostility, 15 by setting aside in his flesh the law with its commands and regulations.
      (Ephesians 2:11-15a)

      As for the law of Christ: James does say we’re now under the “law of liberty,” and that we should live like. Something I’ve touched on here:

      https://goldenbible.wordpress.com/2011/10/07/the-law-of-liberty/

      So, if that’s what you meant by Christ’s law, then yes, we should obey Christ’s law.

      2. What are the laws that we must obey? There are, from what I’ve seen in the Bible, two laws that we must obey:

      1. The local, Earthly law.
      2. The new, Heavenly law.

      The first one meaning that we are to, unless it goes again the rest of the Bible to do so, obey the local authorities and powers. The second one meaning we are to live as Christians; growing into the image of Christ. i.e. That we should “so speak and so act as those who are to be judged under the law of liberty.”

      3. I’m sorry, but could you maybe clarify your third question some?

      Thank you for your reposes,

      Joshua

       
  5. dove124

    March 29, 2012 at 4:51 PM

    Questions
    1. How will you grow ? can you expound that a little bit more?
    2. How about you, did you grow ?

    That’s all.

     
    • Joshua Cleveland

      March 29, 2012 at 5:32 PM

      Hello, and thank you for your questions. I apologize that I didn’t answer them in the post.

      1. You “grow” when you don’t only hear, or read something, but actually do it. i.e. If you read in your Bible about obeying the law (Romans 13), you jolly well better start, if you aren’t already, obeying the law!

      2. Did I/How did I grow? – I assume you mean when I posted this particular blog post, but please correct me if I’m wrong in that assumption. – Well, yes, I’d say I did grow as well. A little more specifically, I grew in my knowledge and understanding of God’s word, and God’s will for me and for all His children. He doesn’t want us to merely give lip service, He wants us. By that, I mean He wants us to give Him everything that we are and will be. So, in a way, I suppose I’ve also grown in the sense that I now have the goal of serving God in every-way I can.

      I do try to answer all the questions I can think of during the course of my post, but a lot of the time I don’t succeed. So, thank you for pointing out where I failed; hopefully it’ll help other people who had the same questions. 🙂

      Joshua

       
  6. Tahlitha Chadwick

    March 29, 2012 at 4:47 PM

    Beautifully written, Joshua.

     
    • Joshua Cleveland

      March 29, 2012 at 5:34 PM

      Thank you Tahlitha; all glory to God.

      Joshua

       
      • Tahlitha Chadwick

        March 29, 2012 at 6:26 PM

        You know it, young man!

        I appreciate the wisdom God has placed in you.

        Continued Blessings.

         
      • Joshua Cleveland

        March 30, 2012 at 2:19 PM

        Well, I’m glad I was of some service then. 🙂

        I pray that God would bless you, as well.

        Joshua

         

Leave a Reply

 
