RSS

Knowing God is Near

29 Dec

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in His word:

At my first defense no one came to stand by me, but all deserted me. May it not be charged against them! But the Lord stood by me and strengthened me, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed and all the Gentiles might hear it. So I was rescued from the lion’s mouth. The Lord will rescue me from every evil deed and bring me safely into his heavenly kingdom. To him be the glory forever and ever. Amen. (2 Timothy 4:16-18)

This passage is quite encouraging; even when it seems like we’ve been deserted, God is always with us. Knowing God is with us, though, is quite difficult at times. The Bible assures us in multiple different passages that God is always with us, but when we experience something like what Job or even Paul experienced, how can we know for sure? It seems that going through what either of these two men went through would shake anyone’s faith.

The answer is somewhat simple: We have to look to the cross. See, when hard times come, we don’t really have to believe God is with us, so much as Christ has died for us. This is because of two simple reasons:

  1. God sent His very own son to die for us, to make us His sons. What human father abandons His children? And how much greater than a human father is God?
  2. If we believe Christ died for us in order to save us, we must also believe He completely finished the work He set out to do. Meaning, that since Christ promised that after He died He would send the Holy Spirit to live within us, He must indeed have done so.

You are Loved!

Joshua Cleveland

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2012 in Delivered Through Love

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Knowing God is Near

  1. Naphtali

    December 29, 2012 at 3:11 PM

    Joshua, I was so inspired by a line you wrote here I have quoted it in my latest blog along with a link to this post of yours. In fact when I read it, my spirit took a leap. Lately I have come to a place of peace I have been searching for my whole life and your words simply put, placed it all in complete perspective. It makes so much sense. God has spoken through you to me.

     
    • Joshua Cleveland

      January 1, 2013 at 8:37 PM

      Thank you Mrs. Neil, that really means a lot to me. I always try to put forward what God has given me, but this post seemed to me particularly unspecial and rather unimaginative. I am really so glad it touched your life, and thank you for sharing it with me!

       
      • Naphtali

        January 2, 2013 at 4:20 AM

        Joshua, that happens to me too. I was surprised when I saw my annual report with the post that received the most hits. Maybe God has something to do with it.

         

Leave a Reply

 
