RSS

God’s Holy Hill

19 Jan

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in His word:

A Psalm of David, when he fled from Absalom his son. O LORD, how many are my foes! Many are rising against me; many are saying of my soul, there is no salvation for him in God. Selah. But you, O LORD, are a shield about me, my glory, and the lifter of my head. I cried aloud to the LORD, and he answered me from his holy hill. Selah. (Psalms 3:1-4)

Christians today can feel rather like David felt in those first couple of verses. There are certainly enough atheists in the World claiming that, “there is no salvation for him/her in God”. However, I love how David reaffirms his faith: Whenever people rise up against him, and claim that there isn’t any salvation for him in God, he remembers how Jesus (who is God incarnate) answered him, “from his holy hill”. David was likely referring to the “hill” he mentions metaphorically, but it has obvious meaning as well for Christians today. In other words, when people try to say that there is no salvation, God is the one that answers them from Calvary.

The assurance of our salvation is on top of Calvary. Christ’s death and Resurrection is what gives us confidence to believe that Jesus really can and does save, in spite of what other’s say – When we doubt, we must only remember God’s answer from on top of Calvary.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2013 in Delivered Through Love

 

3 responses to “God’s Holy Hill

Leave a Reply

 
