RSS

The Christian’s Cause for Worship, Pt. 2

14 Jun

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in His word:

A Psalm of David. My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? Why are you so far from saving me, from the words of my groaning? O my God, I cry by day, but you do not answer, and by night, but I find no rest. (Psalms 22:1-2)

The interesting thing about this particular passage, and about Psalm 22 as a whole, is that throughout the passage David is prophesying the words and feelings of Christ when He was on the cross. In this particular section, David uses the same words as Christ on the cross, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” (see Matthew 27:46).

Jesus did this, I believe, in order to show us He was fulfilling this passage in His death. Once we know that, David actually gives us unique insights into what exactly Jesus was going through. We knew already, and rejoice in the fact, that on our behalf he endured unimaginable pain, and took all of our guilt and shame upon Himself. However, David reveals things such as this:

I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint; my heart is like wax; it is melted within my breast; my strength is dried up like a potsherd, and my tongue sticks to my jaws; you lay me in the dust of death. For dogs encompass me; a company of evildoers encircles me; they have pierced my hands and feet—I can count all my bones— they stare and gloat over me; (Psalms 22:14-17)

Jesus went through every bad thing we could ever imagine. He was tempted in every way, shape and form that we too have been tempted in. He endured the unimaginable wrath of God, and all solely in order to save you and me. More over, He sent His very Spirit to comfort us and help us in our times of weakness and despair. Talk about something we can celebrate over!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2013 in Delivered Through Love

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Christian’s Cause for Worship, Pt. 2

  1. granonine

    June 20, 2013 at 5:42 AM

    This Psalm is a favorite of mine. Thanks for a good exposition, Josh.

     

Leave a Reply

 
