RSS

A Strong Fortress

01 Jul

Hello again!

This is what God gave me today in His word:

Incline your ear to me; rescue me speedily! Be a rock of refuge for me, a strong fortress to save me! For you are my rock and my fortress; and for your name’s sake you lead me and guide me; you take me out of the net they have hidden for me, for you are my refuge. Into your hand I commit my spirit; you have redeemed me, O LORD, faithful God. (Psalms 31:2-5)

David understood very well that he could never defend himself if God wasn’t on his side. Unfortunately, and fortunately, not all that many Christians today have experienced the trials David experienced. Thus, we tend to not always rely upon God (“rely upon God,” meaning rely upon Him to either provide a way out of the trial, or else to give us the strength to stand up under it), but rather take things into our own hands. Something which really never works out well; when you put your trust in a fortress unable to hold it’s own weight, you’re in for a rough time when you get assaulted by temptation. Which is exactly why it’s so important to our Spiritual lives that we don’t ourself; in the feeble fortress and cracked rock that is our own effort and ability. Rather than that, we should run to God in prayer. As David says, He truly is a rock of refuge and a strong fortress.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 1, 2013 in Delivered Through Love

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “A Strong Fortress

Leave a Reply

 
